Upcycled / cupcakes

Initially, I was confused about the word—upcycled.

From wikipedia: upcycled is the process of converting waste materials or useless products into new materials or products of better quality or for better environmental value. Some of my classmates explained that to me with some interesting examples!

Like this picture:

upcycle15

An old discarded suitcase..I love how they used random pairs of legs which were most probably recycled…the possibilities are endless with suitcases.

How could I combined the Upcycled and cupcakes together? As you know, cupcakes are food, how could I design upcycled cupcakes? While I didn`t want to wix the cupcakes to make another food. So, I changed the direction to the cupcake lines which were colorful and pretty.

杯子蛋糕GIF

CIMG1505_副本

I just folded it arbitrarily and found it like a blooming flower!
As the Mid Autumn festival, a significant festival in China, is coming, I decided to make the cupcakes lines lantern to celebrate our festival!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

In China, people will put the lanterns in the river to express thier emotion in the mid-autumn festival.  The lanterns in the floor with shadow seem like the lantern in the river. Outside the window is Manhattan, inside the window is my deep thoughts. When I put them in the Ludlow dorm, my chinese fellows told me they all miss China now!