NeoPixel “Switch” Up

Fun with the NeoPixels

I didn’t get too fancy with the NeoPixels but I did try to get all of mine connected in series.  Unfortunately I could only get the first one to work after hooking all that up.  I double checked all the connections and everything seemed lined up correctly.  + to + and – to – and all the arrows pointing in a row.  I decided it must be a jumper wire so I unhooked the three additional NeoPix that I’d connected to the functioning one and began connecting them out one at a time (note to self this is probably a good practice for the future) and when I didn’t get that 2nd one to light up I began swapping jumpers.

Image

I totally lucked out that the first one I tried seemed to be faulty.  This is the second jumper wire I’ve discovered like this and I’m wondering if with the multimeter I could test the wires for continuity.  (I set the jumpers aside but tied them in a loose knot so I know not to use them unless I figure out how to fix them.)

Image

I began switching numbers around and was able to figure out what all the parameters did.  First it displays each specified color at the brightness determined on the scale of 0 to 255 for a time determined by the 4th number in each series.  When I made the number smaller the delay was a shorter time.  (Not sure what unit of time this number represents.  I assumed it was milliseconds but it seem longer than this.)

Image

I was confused by the difference between rainbow and rainbow cycle.  I changed the parameters and deleted one and then the other line.  It seems like the cycle is a longer smoother thing.  The number which follows seems to make it happen faster or slower.

I decided to try adding the switch to my device so I could turn it on and off while I was rewriting code without plugging and unplugging the USB cable.  The switch worked but I got this error message on my computer.

Image

I’m not sure why adding a switch would cause the whole system to draw more power.  I noticed that in the Getting Started with Arduino book there’s a resister included in the switch circuit.  Maybe that’s why?  Need to find out more about this.

Image