“Plush” Phone Case

Hi all!

I managed to delete my entire post earlier today, however, here is the process for my phone case!

wallet4 copy

I started with a concept sketch of the pattern I wanted to create. These are the materials I ended up using:

-Gray wool, leather, 1 Piezo electric disc, 1 blue LED, Arduino UNO board.

DSC_0003

I started by testing out the pattern. I had never used to sewing machine and I knew it was going to be a challenge even though the pattern I drew up seemed simple enough. Getting straight lines in that machine was hard! I will continue to practice this skill for sure.

IMG_2683  IMG_2696

IMG_2699  IMG_2704

Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 10.05.39 PM

I used the code from the “Knock” example as a base. I changed the “threshold” and the “delay” in hopes that the Piezo sensor would become sensitive enough to detect the cel phone’s vibration. Regardless of the code ( that works) it seemed that the vibrations of the phone alone wouldn’t trigger the threshold to go above 1.

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0022

Go to my instagram to see a video of me tapping the cel phone-case like a crazy man.

http://instagram.com/minuscoco

Thank you : )