Tear Down – Motorola Droid Phone

This is my post for the teardown assignment.  My teardown object of choice was a Motorola Droid cellphone.

image1-3

Taking apart the phone was relatively simple.

image1-2 image2

The tiny screws gave me some trouble, but it was the tiny tiny screws that were the most difficult.  I could not find a small enough screw driver, so I tried drilling it with a dremel.

image2-2

I wanted to remove the LCD screen.  After failing to remove the screws, I tried prying it off and that is when I cracked the screen.  This is when I began to consider my safety and called the tear down complete.

A list of the removed parts (with pictures):

image1 image2

Keyboard

image3

Battery

image4

Hard drive with ram?

image5

This is the part that housed the MicoSD card and Sim card

 image7

Micro SD card

image6

Sim card

image8

Some other misc. parts

This was a fun project.  I enjoyed taking an object that was once precious to me and just tearing it apart and destroying it (for educational purposes).

Doug