Teardown: The Late Edition

Breaking down this LG Dumbphone with my Tekton Small Electronics Repair Kit was a fantastic peek inside the black box of mystery and an exercise that really had me intrigued. What is this magic that ruled my life in 2005; this mix of plastic, aluminum, steel, copper, glass, and conductive tape, that is printed, pressed, pulled, stamped, cut, glued, and screwed into a plastic-injected, machine-milled, (wo)manhandled package?

MK_LG

Well, the answer is simple: my favorite phone of all time.

But now you ask me why?

Maybe it’s the sexy Qualcomm RFR 6500 Diversity Receiver?

FullSizeRender

Or this sweet LED?

IMG_1736

Perhaps this LG PCB SUB Flex Cable?

IMG_1738

Or the MV8652CAB Logic Board?

IMG_1740

Well, no. It’s actually the exterior control functions that I loved the best. I mean, can you resist a touch screen that only exists for the novelty, and could barely register a finger at full tap? Probably not. But if you can, I’m sure that the landscape-intuitive photo button that encouraged proper video capture will steal your heart.