Plush Lamp

Below are a series of images with descriptions that outline my process towards creating an object for the plush lamp assignment.

image1

First I designed and cut out a series of box templates.  These would then be folded into cubes.

image1

This is a process shot of my desk

image4

After constructing all the cubes I measured and cut fabric for the faces of the cubes.

image5

Cutting fabric with my dog Q-Tip!

image3

After attaching the fabric I put felt of the outside and sewed the edges to make the transition between fabrics more seamless.

image5

This is the finished cubes unattached

image1

After making all the cubes and attaching the fabric I created ‘invisible’ hinges using packing tape.


     But it didn’t work and I decided to take it all apart and start over.image3

image4

image2

image2

I discovered a new way to create a hinge system and round two worked out better.

image1

Here is a video in slo-motion!