Wifi Power Strip

I wanted to find a way to make my apartment smart without investing a lot of money. Thats why I have decided to make a wifi power strip that I can control over my phone. I can plug in any device to the plug and turn it on and off form my cellphone!

img_2151

img_2147

So I cut the connection between every plug to make them individual. There is one for the USB connectors to the left, you can see a blue and red cable coming out and then the plugs, I cut the metal strip that connected them to make them individual plugs. Then, I connect each plug to 1 of the relays including the usb connectors and I plug the Relay to the wifi controller and Vuala, I have my smart power strip!

IMG_2150.JPG

 

HOW TO BUILD YOUR OWN POWER STRIP.

Step 1

Get all of the materials in the list.

  1. Power Strip
  2. 4 channel relay
  3. Wifi arduino controller

Step 2 – Dismantel the power strip.

img_2147

 

Step 3 – Cut the metal gold strip between the plugs to separate the conection in order to control them independently.

IMG_4142.JPG

Step 4

  1. Connect 1 side to all positive, in this case blue and the other side negative. Then plug in the positives to the positives in the 4 channel relay and the negatives in the negatives.

IMG_2190.JPG

IMG_0504.JPG

Finally plug the ground into one of the 4 channel since the ground is shared by all them and connect the 4 channels to the wifi controller.

IMG_7875.JPG

Now you have to figure out the code!